Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Libbey Vibe Storage Jars – Spice Edition

I just finished transferring most of my spices and herbs into the 4 1/2-ounce Libbey Vibe Storage Jars. Aren’t they pretty? 🙂

I purchased these because I wanted jars that were attractive and easy to measure from. As common as they are, I rarely use the sprinkle tops that most spices come with; usually recipes call for a very specific amount and I don’t trust myself to eyeball it! And most spice jars have very narrow necks, so in order to measure I have to dump it into the measuring spoon, or use that tiny little pour spout and hope the spices aren’t clumped.

These adorable little jars are glass with a flat glass lid and a plastic, air-tight seal, just like all the other Vibe jars. The mouth of each jar is wide enough to easily scoop out spices with a measuring spoon, or just grab a pinch with your fingers.

The flat lids allow the jars to be stacked on top of each other, but I don’t recommend making a huge teetering tower. After two, they start getting a little unstable. I plan to get a tiered shelf stacker (something like this) to keep them visible in my cabinet.

For labeling, there are as many options as you could desire. For now, I have used a ballpoint pen on masking tape to make little hillbilly labels. Once I find (or make) labels that I like, the masking tape will remove easily and cheaply.

These each hold one average jar of spices. Due to settling and weight differences, some spices will overflow the Libbey jars just a little. Usually you can shake or tamp the spice down to make it fit.

These jars also make it easy to store spices that you buy in little baggies, so you can get local or ethnic flavorings and store them neatly and air-tight with all your other spices. Or, if you’re really hardcore, you can grow and dry your own spices and store them! I’m about ready to learn how to dry cilantro myself; it is nearly impossible to find it in a jar, at least where I live. If I do, I will let you know how it turns out!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

