Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

It’s fall!!!

I love fall!!! Yay!!!!

I have always loved fall, probably because I hate the summer heat and autumn is the first sweet breath of relief, hinting at the long, cold days of winter to come. It’s the beginning of cozy early sunsets, long trousers and sweaters, and holidays: Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas.

My birthday is in October, so I’ve always had an affinity for pumpkins, Jack-o-lanterns, and black cats. Normally I would be appreciating the cooler temperatures and changing colors as nature transitions away from the sun, but since I live in Southern California, there are no outside indications of fall. Even the longer nights don’t really seem real.

So I have to make it look like fall inside!

I’ve got two baking pumpkins that I got at the grocery store. I’m going to enjoy them for a while, then cook them for pumpkin pies, pumpkin bread, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin lattes, pumpkin soup, and whatever else I can think to put them into.

The background is an autumn tablecloth I got at Wal-Mart a few years ago. (The package said it was from the 2010 collection.)

On the back right is a pumpkin wax warmer: there’s a light bulb inside, and you put a little cube of scented wax into the bowl-shaped lid. When you plug it in, the light shines out the holes and melts the wax. When you’re done, you can pour the wax back into the container and keep using it until it stops smelling good anymore. These wax warmers are really popular now; you can get them in any design and with any scent imaginable. I love burning autumn-scented candles, and thought I’d give this a try this year for some variety.

The small pumpkins in front are my salt and pepper shakers. Every year I am tempted to buy a whole table set in the holiday designs: plates shaped like pumpkins, or mistletoe and holly for Christmas, etc. But, at the end of the day, it seems wasteful to have whole new dishes that can only be used for a few weeks a year. So I’ve decided to start collecting my good china in a plain white pattern that can be used year round, and decorate under and around it with tablecloths and other accessories.

On the front right is my beloved pumpkin candy dish. Back in 2008, it was the first purchase I made looking forward to having a home of my own. It is in two pieces, and is perfect for candy corn or mellowcreme pumpkins, two of my favorite fall candies.

Outside it’s still hot, sunny, and green, but inside I can surround myself with tokens of my favorite time of year!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “It’s fall!!!

  1. I sent some Thanksgiving Ideals magazines – beautiful fall pics, stories, recipes, and poems – if they are duplicates, just hang onto them and I will retrieve.

Leave a Reply

