Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Pretty things

As I’ve mentioned, making my home more attractive has become a higher priority for me. We live in a rented apartment, so there’s a limited amount I can do to the foundation, but I’m finding that even tiny things can make a big difference, especially in the spaces that I use the most often.

One of the things that surprised me is my set of espresso cups. I bought them on Ebay, even though I’m not a big coffee drinker, just because they were a discontinued item in my pattern. 🙂 I honestly figured they wouldn’t get used that much, but it turns out that having my qahwa in one of those beautiful little cups is the highlight of my morning. I love holding the saucer and the tiny cup handle, and the lined, slightly geometric pattern is pure pleasure to look at. I wish I had a nice place to display them while they’re not in use, but there is no way we have the space or the moving weight allowance for me to have a china hutch. Yet. 😉

For aesthetic enhancement for slightly less money, I have also made the following improvements:

Item number one:

When I was growing up, we always kept the dish soap under the sink, so whether or not it was attractive didn’t really matter. But when I moved in with my husband, he was adamant that the bottle be kept out, sitting on the sink. This bugged the crap out of me for a long time, until I discovered this. I found it in the kitchen section at Wal-Mart. It only holds sixteen ounces, so I still have a bottle of dish soap, but I can keep it under the sink out of sight. Given the amount of time I spend standing in front of the sink, this has really made a big difference to me. It changes colors whenever I get new soap, and it actually helps a lot with portion control. I don’t have to buy it as often, and it only takes one hand to squirt two pumps into the sink.

Item number two:

This was another issue with keeping an ugly box sitting out on the sink, bathroom edition. We don’t really have much storage in our bathroom, so everything we use is either 1) sitting on the sink or 2) in the bedroom and we carry it in and out every time. This cute little thing is called the Qube, and I got it at Bed, Bath and Beyond for $3.99. Yes, they actually have something that only costs $3.99! I was shocked, too.  Once again, inexpensive, clear, plastic storage container, and it has made looking at my bathroom so much better. It doesn’t hold the entire box of cotton swabs, so that box still lives under the sink, but I don’t have to look at a soggy, dusty cardboard container every few minutes all day, either.

Given our lack of space, I don’t really have the opportunity to do a lot of extraneous decorating. But I can transform what we already have into something that makes our house a little bit more into a home.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

