Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Sticky Pecan Caramel Rolls (and the rolling pin)

Sticky Pecan Caramel Rolls

These are the Sticky Pecan Caramel Rolls (page 187) from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I mixed up a batch of the Brioche dough (page 189) last week, then pulled some out of the fridge, rolled it out, and threw in the topping and filling today. It was so fast and easy! The caramel doesn’t even need to be cooked; you just cream together the butter and sugar and seasonings. Once you assemble them, they just rise for an hour, then bake for about 40 minutes.

As you can see, I bungled the assembly somewhat, but these still turned out delicious!  You don’t even have to use the dessert dough; you can substitute the basic white if that’s all you have. This cookbook never ceases to amaze me.

This was also my first time using my new rolling pin. For the most part, I loved my old pin; it’s a super-long wooden French-style from Bed, Bath & Beyond. I got used to using a pin without handles, and I love the control and feel you get with that style. I also love that there aren’t any crevices that have to be cleaned out! You can just use a dish scraper and scrape everything off, then wipe it clean with a wet rag.

The only potential drawback was its tapered design, which never really gave me any problems until I started making tortillas. Other doughs were thick enough that I could just tilt the pin to get the whole thing flat, but I was getting very uneven results with the tortilla dough. Plus, my old pin was getting marked up badly from using my pierogi press (which is AMAZING; I’ll have to do a post about it!); the blades were putting dents in it.

So I ordered the Ateco 19-Inch Maple Rolling Pin from Amazon. It came highly recommended, and so far I really like it. It’s not too expensive, and it has most of what I like in a rolling pin. It’s not tapered, so it rolls evenly, and it’s almost as long as my old one (once you get used to a long rolling pin, you just can’t go back). It’s maple like the old one, so (aside from doing things like rolling it over metal blades) it’s pretty sturdy. It’s not very heavy, and it even comes in a resealable plastic bag for storage if you want.

They make rolling pins that come with spacers so that you can roll dough to precise thicknesses, but the ones I found either 1) were WAY too short (like 13 inches), or 2) didn’t come with the most commonly required dough thickness (1/8″). I’d love to have spacers like that, but for now I’ll keep eyeballing!

I’ll still be keeping my old pin; it’ll be relegated to pierogi duty, and eventually when my daughter is older we can have two people rolling at the same time! But if I could only have one rolling pin, I’d have to go with the straight version.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

