Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

It’s (almost) fall!!!

fall 2013

Technically, the Autumn Equinox doesn’t occur until 4:44 p.m. EST on September 22. But I rarely accomplish anything of value on the weekends, and I love fall and want to experience as much of it as possible, so I went ahead and got out the swag early!

I’ve got some classics from prior years: the tablecloth, wax warmer, candy dish and salt & pepper shakers.

I always like to get the Pillsbury cake mixes in the current season; I send cupcakes to my husband’s work and I like to make the festive ones. The Caramel Apple flavor is new, so we’ll have to see how it goes. Fall flavors aren’t very consistent; I think I tried the Candy Corn flavored M&Ms last year, and they were AWFUL. That’s why I send stuff to other people. If I don’t like them, I unload them on someone else. 🙂

This year I got some mini pumpkins for my two-year-old to play with. I mainly did it so she would be distracted from the larger baking pumpkins I got, which are not featured in this image because they were all gruesomely dismembered and their remains are in bags in my freezer. Yay homemade pumpkin puree!

And Pumpkin Pie is my favorite flavor of Pop-Tart. I don’t actually like Pop-Tarts all that much, but these I can tolerate as long as they are well toasted and come with a glass of milk. Being a seasonal flavor helps, because then I can’t get sick of them. And it has the word ‘pumpkin’ on it, which pretty much guarantees I will buy it. I buy everything that says that. The Pumpkin Spice Latte is the only thing I get from Starbucks, and I always go to The Cheesecake Factory more often in autumn to make sure I get plenty of their seasonal Pumpkin Cheesecake — or this one that I haven’t yet tried: Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecake. I got pumpkin ice cream last year, and a pumpkin spice cream cheese spread that was terrible — all fake chemical flavoring. Bleh.

I’ve got a whole list of pumpkin recipes to try myself this year, since I put away so much pumpkin, including these from The Pioneer Woman. I’ve recently started reading her blog, after being less than impressed by the TV show, and it’s really a good read. Great photography, beautiful kitchen, wonderful recipes. Someday I’ll go all fan-girl and try to make a post like she does, only with a crappy phone camera and no discernible artistic talent.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

