Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Recipe share: best Brussels sprouts

This is the best Brussels sprouts recipe ever. The next time you see good Brussels sprouts at the grocery store, you should buy a whole bunch and fix them this way. They will be amazing.

Here’s what you need:

sprouts ingredients

A whole bunch of Brussels sprouts, sesame oil, Dijon mustard, soy sauce, and black pepper. (Over-the-sink cutting board with built-in colander is optional unless you have a tiny kitchen and have to create counter space out of anything you can.) It had been a long time since I made these, but the Brussels sprouts at the store just were never really good. Really huge, but not bright green with tightly furled leaves. I saw these the other day, and they’re PERFECT: small, tight, and verdant.

You’ll notice the recipe calls for peanut oil, but I’ve always used sesame oil. The flavor is AMAZING. It’s expensive, but I only use it occasionally in small amounts, and a little bit goes a long way. And I don’t always use freshly-ground black pepper, but for this recipe, it’s worth it. If you don’t have that, regular black pepper is fine.

First, wash the sprouts, then trim off their little stem ends and cut them in half, top to bottom. I usually don’t pull of the outer leaves before I halve them, because the loose, dingy ones fall off when I do. So I save the step.

sprouts cut

Next, mix your seasonings in a bowl. This time I mixed them in the bottom of a big bowl and put the sprouts on top, but you get better coverage if you mix the seasonings in a little bowl, then put the sprouts in a big bowl and pour the mixture over. It’s been a long time since I’ve measured the seasonings in this recipe; do it once or twice until you get the idea, then just throw in as much as you like.

sprouts seasonings

Toss the Brussels sprouts with the well-mixed seasonings until thoroughly coated.

sprouts in bowl

Lightly grease a rimmed baking sheet and place the sprouts on in an even layer. See how green and pretty they look!

sprouts on pan before

They take about a total of 35 minutes in the oven. First, bake them at 350º for 15 minutes. Then increase the heat to 400º and roast them for another 20 minutes, stirring them around every five minutes or so. See how blackened and gross they look!

sprouts on pan after

Yeah, I know, they look terrible. But they taste incredible!

sprouts after

The sprouts have become completely tender and sweet, and the saltiness of the soy sauce and the tang of the mustard and the savoriness of the sesame oil complements them perfectly. All the loose leaves have become blackened and shriveled.

sprouts close up

You don’t have to eat the black leaves if you don’t want, but I like about one blackened leaf per sprout half, just to add some crunch and that lovely charred flavor.

This recipe, and several of my other favorites, come from Slate magazine’s You’re Doing It Wrong series. Slate recently redesigned their website, and the biggest casualty was their formerly unsurpassed printing system, with tragic results for my recipe binder. I’m just glad I printed them out when I did; now they can’t be taken away from me! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Recipe share: best Brussels sprouts

  1. Just today we learned that for the Hispanic demographic, brussels sprouts are one of the three top sides at Christmas dinner – who would have thought! I’ll never forget having these at your house and they were WONDERFUL.

Leave a Reply

