Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Recipe: Chicken Cheese Quiche

chicken cheese quiche

Normally, when I make a quiche, I don’t really follow a recipe. I may look to make sure that I get the ratio of eggs to milk correct, but I usually just throw in whatever bits of meat and cheese and veg I have in the fridge, and that’s dinner.

But the other night I threw together a quiche that was so amazing, I immediately wrote down EXACTLY what I put in it, so I could make it again, and again, and again… And now I want to share it! (That’s what recipes are about, in my opinion.)

What you need:

  • 1/3 recipe Perfect Pie Crust from The Pioneer Woman (Note: I used half butter and half butter-flavored shortening for my crust. The Pioneer Woman usually says that the recipe makes two crusts, but I find that it makes 2 HUGE crusts, so I divide it into 3 parts for normal-size pie pans and things. Like she says, this crust keeps wonderfully in the fridge or freezer for whenever you need a quick crust. It’s great!)
  • about 1 cup Tyson grilled chicken breast strips, diced and warmed in a skillet (Most grocery stores have these, either in the frozen meat section, or sometimes up with deli meats. I usually try to avoid processed foods like this, but these taste DELICIOUS, and they can go from the freezer to the table in about 10 minutes. I usually keep a bag in the freezer and pull them out on days when I don’t have a lot of time to cook; they’re amazing on pasta with sun-dried tomato alfredo sauce, in any kind of quesadilla, on Caesar salad…)
  • 4 ounces Colby Jack cheese, grated (I buy usually buy cheese in 1-pound bricks, and when I get home I cut it into four 4-ounce pieces, wrap them individually in plastic wrap, then put them in zip top baggies according to type and stick them in the freezer. Then when I need cheese, I just pull however much I need out and thaw it. Yes, this is a huge pain, but I got tired of throwing out so much expensive cheese because it got moldy in the fridge.)
  • 2 ounces pepper jack cheese, grated (The pepper jack came in an 8-ounce brick, so I divided it into four 2-ounce pieces.)
  • about 1/8 cup chopped chives
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 2 tiny sprinkles cayenne pepper
  • 2 tiny sprinkles paprika
  • salt and pepper, to taste

What you do:

1) Preheat your oven to 400º.

2) Roll out the crust and place it in a deep-dish pie pan (or quiche pan, if that’s how you roll).

3) Sprinkle the grated cheese evenly over the bottom of the crust, then layer the chopped chicken pieces and chives over that. (I always place my quiche fillings in the crust before I pour over the egg mixture. It ensures that the fillings are evenly distributed, and putting the cheese on the bottom gives a layer of protection so the crust doesn’t get as soggy. Not that you’ll care with this crust, it’s delicious anyway!)

4) In a bowl, blend the eggs, half-and-half, seasonings. Whisk everything together so that it’s as even as possible, then carefully pour over the fillings in the crust. The filling shouldn’t reach the top of the pan; quiche rises as it cooks and you don’t want it to overflow.

5) Set the quiche pan on a rimmed baking sheet (in case it does overflow), cover lightly with foil (I just set a square of foil on top; don’t tuck it around or anything), and bake for 40-45 minutes. At the end of that time, remove the foil and continue baking the quiche for 10-15 minutes until it is set. Before serving, let rest for 10-15 minutes, if you can wait that long.

I honestly don’t know what makes this quiche so amazing. The chives? The bit of pepper jack cheese? The seasoning on the chicken? All I know is that it was incredible.

Note: The only thing I might do differently next time is to reduce the Colby jack cheese to 2 ounces. Normally a quiche this size uses only 4 ounces total, and I didn’t bother reducing the Colby jack when I added the pepper jack. This is a very cheesy quiche. This was the quiche reheated a day later, and the cheese is still overwhelming. (*drool*)

chicken cheese quiche 2

Another note: Monterey Jack cheese (the base of both Colby jack and pepper jack) is a very melty, gooey cheese. If your quiche looks like the egg whites are still raw, look more closely and see if it isn’t just the jack cheese being itself. I almost overcooked this because melted Monterey Jack looks so much like uncooked egg whites. But it tastes amazing!

As with any quiche recipe, feel free to change this to your liking – that’s the great thing about quiche! Hopefully you’ll make your own quiche that is as pleasant a surprise as this one was for me!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

