Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Cooking fail, Thanksgiving 2013

I started cooking for Thanksgiving on Wednesday morning. So far, I have made the following mistakes:

  1. Tuesday night I made baked spaghetti pie (it’s great! You should try it!) and set the leftovers in the closed oven to cool while we ran a quick errand after supper. Of course, I forgot that it was in there all night and the next morning I preheated the oven to 425º for pies. Because of the pie mistake (see below), I didn’t actually open the preheated oven for about an hour, thoroughly toasting the leftover spaghetti pie.
  2. I waited until late in the game to thaw the pumpkin puree for the pumpkin pies, so I was running a little behind. When it finally thawed, I went ahead and mixed up the sugar, spices, eggs and pumpkin, then quickly opened two cans of evaporated milk and started dumping them in. About half a can in I realized that the evaporated milk was sour and clumpy, and I ended up throwing out all the sugar and eggs and my precious homemade pumpkin puree. *Wah!* Then I was grateful that I had a lot more pumpkin, extra eggs, and two brand-new cans of evaporated milk and I started over.
  3. Mini-mistake: not using deep-dish pie shells for the pumpkin pie. Normally pumpkin pie isn’t done in deep-dish pie shells, but every single year the custard spills over the edge and burns all over the baking sheets the pies are on. So next year, I’m going to learn my lesson and just make them deep-dish to being with.
  4. Most tragic mistake: I bought stuff to make watergate salad for my husband’s work, and I only bought enough to make two batches, most of it for them and only a little reserved for us. Clearly, in the future, I should buy enough for AT LEAST three batches, since I always end up eating most of it while I’m making it anyway.

That’s all for now. But I will update as soon as I make my next flub!

UPDATE: 10:44 a.m. Thanksgiving Day

  1. I decided to make broccoli/cauliflower salad, and I bought the ranch dressing packet, but didn’t get any extra sour cream. So I had to use a few tablespoons of sour cream supplemented by a whole bunch of old plain Greek yogurt in my fridge. (That stuff stays good forever!)

UPDATE: 12:23 a.m. Thanksgiving Day

  1. I tried a new mashed potatoes recipe this year, Pioneer Woman’s Creamy Mashed Potatoes. They taste delicious, and are touted as being a wonderful make-ahead dish because they can be refrigerated then baked later. Unfortunately, I left them in the fridge until I baked them for 30 minutes at 350º, at which point everything else is piping hot and ready to go, and the potatoes are still cold. Next time, I’ll either leave them out to come to room temperature, or put them in the oven early and let them bake much, much longer.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

