Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Quick caffeinated breakfast drink

This light breakfast is super quick and super simple. If I’m running out the door first thing in the morning, this is my first choice for getting something into my stomach. And if I use a canning jar and handy plastic lid, then there’s barely any clean-up!

What you need:

IMG_1726

I love these vintage-style blue canning jars. Not all of my jars have measurement markings on the the side, but these do, so they’re perfect for this. I use the pint size because that leaves plenty of room to mix the drink.

What you do:

1) Pour six ounces of milk into the jar:

IMG_1727

2) Then pour in 2 ounces of coffee concentrate:

IMG_1729

3) Pour in your breakfast drink packet:

IMG_1730

4) Top with a plastic jar lid:

IMG_1732

5a) Agitate vigorously:

IMG_1733

5b) Maybe even more vigorously:

IMG_1734

6) And it’s all frothy!

IMG_1735

7) You’re done! You’ve got your fat and protein from the milk, carbs and vitamins from the breakfast drink, and sweet, sweet caffeine of life from the coffee!

IMG_1736

I love the plastic canning jar lids; I use canning jars all the time, but I never actually can with them. So the plastic lids are more practical for me: they’re only one piece, they’re reusable, and they don’t rust. I use them for storingĀ things at room temperature and in the fridge, and of course for using jars to mix drinks and salad dressing and stuff.

When I’m making this drink, depending on the flavor of coffee I have going, I usually use a chocolate or vanilla breakfast drink mix. Any of the chocolates would be good (milk, dark, malt), and the vanilla is good, but I’m not sure how the strawberry would go with coffee. I have yet to try it.

Sometimes in the winter I will heat the milk and coffee together on the stove, then stir the drink mix in at the end, but it’s not quite as good warm. The drink mix just doesn’t taste right hot; maybe because you’d expect it to taste like hot chocolate when it most certainly does not.

Once I start college next week, I fully expect this to become a daily routine.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

