Mrs. Sell's Blog of Household Management

Fall roundup 2015: Pumpkin Spice Swirl Bread

 

pepperidge farm pumpkin spice swirl bread

I got this after we moved away from Southern California; I always used to get the Vons/Safeway Pumpkin Bread in the bakery department. It’s not pumpkin quick bread; the package called it “toasting bread” — just regular, sliced loaf bread with pumpkin and pumpkin spice. I loved it toasted, just with butter, although my daughter would have things like grape and strawberry jam on hers. (She was a baby; give her a break. 🙂 )

This Pepperidge Farm version works when I can’t get that. It’s a little more desserty, because of all sugary swirl, and it has chunks of pumpkin in it, but it’s good.

The thing I use this for the most is French toast; it’s wonderful for that, especially since I tend to use pumpkin pie spice in my French toast anyway!

For 4-6 slices, just combine 2 eggs, 1/2 cup of milk, 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla (or other flavoring), and a few pinches of seasoning (cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice…). Drench each slice of bread in the mixture, then grill on a buttered griddle over medium-low to medium heat for a few minutes on each side, or until lightly browned. Serve with butter, syrup, whipped cream, caramel sauce… Hey, I said it was desserty, didn’t I?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fall roundup 2015: Pumpkin Spice Swirl Bread

  1. That sounds delicious! One of my favorite things is toast with the butter melted in just right – mmm! I bet it would be even better with this bread.

Leave a Reply

